US National Arboretum

 

 

Floral and Nursery Plants Research Unit

POSTDOCTORALS and SUPPORT SCIENTISTS

POSTDOCTORAL RESEARCH ASSOCIATES

Current Postdoctoral Research Associates include:

Henry Guo
Plant Pathologist
Henry.Guo@ars.usda.gov

James Kilcrease
Plant Pathologist
James.Kilcrease@ars.usda.gov

Michael Stulberg
Molecular Biologist
Michael.Stulberg@ars.usda.gov

Chandra Thammina
Geneticist
Chandra.Thammina@ars.usda.gov

Ruchi Verma
Bioinformaticist
Ruchi.Verma@ars.usda.gov

Paulo Vieira
Geneticist
Paulo.Vieira@ars.usda.gov


Some Previous PostDocs included:

SUPPORT SCIENTISTS

Mr. Ron Beck
Horticulturist
Ron.Beck@ars.usda.gov

Supports research on breeding and genetics of woody ornamental plants, including molecular markers and flow cytometry. Maintains molecular laboratory and conducts plant tissue culture experiments.

Ms. Susan E. Bentz
Horticulturist
Susan.Bentz@ars.usda.gov

Hybridizes and evaluates hemlock species for resistance to wooly adelgid. Develops techniques for propagating superior selections of disease and insect-resistant trees. Manages national tree distribution and evaluation program.

Mr. Chris VonKohn
Plant Geneticist
Christopher.VonKohn@ars.usda.gov

Supports woody ornamental breeding and germplasm programs by conducting molecular analyses, making crosses, evaluating germplasm and hybrids, and analyzing data.

Ms. Mary Ann Guaragna
Plant Pathologist
MaryAnn.Guaragna@ars.usda.gov

Supports research on investigations on the biochemical and serological nature of plant viruses, their genomes and gene products. Coordinates and performs recombinant DNA-related experiments, including the expression of viral or anti-viral genes in transgenic plants. Maintains, operates, and coordinates use of laboratory DNA sequencer and genetic analyzer instrument.

Mr. David Kidwell-Slak
Horticulturist
David.Kidwell-Slak@ars.usda.gov

Oversees greenhouse/polyhouse complex for shrub research group; investigates propagation methodologies; evaluates germplasm; conducts hybridization studies in the family Hamamelidaceae. International Registrar for Lagerstroemia.

Dr. Robert Webster
Botanist
robert.d.webster@ars.usda.gov

Oversees the National Arboretum herbarium: collects and identifies plants, ensures that research material and living germplasm collections are represented by specimens in the herbarium, maintains and adds to the specimen database, and trains and assists Herbarium volunteers, and investigates the nomenclature of ornamental grasses.

Mr. Zheng-Lian Xia
Botanist
zheng-lian.xia@ars.usda.gov

Oversees genetic laboratory work for the taxonomy program, obtains comparative genetic marker profiles for estimating parentage of plants and genetic similarity of populations, and obtains DNA sequences for inferring relationships among tree species and accessions.

Research Unit Home Page || Mission & Goals || History || Locations
Scientists & Specialties || Postdoctorals & Support Scientists || Technical & Support Staff
Recent Accomplishments || Publications & Patents || New Plant Introductions
Woody Landscape Plants Germplasm Repository || National Herbarium

 Back to the Arboretum Home Page
Arboretum Information || Events & Education || Gardens & Horticulture || Research Activities
Support the Arboretum || New Plant Introductions || USDA Plant Hardiness Zone Map || Comments
Search Our Site

Last Updated   January 12, 2015 2:06 PM
URL = http://www.usna.usda.gov/Research/postdoc&.html

narj
Please address any comments or questions regarding any portion of this web page by e-mail to the FNPRU site administrator